Thinking about moving to San Diego

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by EqtTrdr, Jul 3, 2006.

1. Trying to figure out why everyone I know says California has an extremely high cost of living.....

So I went online and tried to find out some facts...

I have lived in New York, Miami and Austin,TX

My monthly health insurance in NY was $916 a month for husband/wife

In Miami it was $325 a month

92117 zip code in Cali the same plan is $170 a month.....so that's not it....

I did the same for car insurance, California was again the lowest...so thats not it.......

I checked all my utility bills and am paying more in Austin than I was in NY or Miami. I wont need to use the AC/Heat, electric as much in Cali due to the weather, so my bills will be the same if not much cheaper.

When I visited Cali, the restaurant, grocery prices were exactly the same as NY, Miami and Austin, so that's not it.....

I am a trader so I don't pay Cali "income tax". My wife is a personal trainer here in Austin. She has offers in SD for 1.5-2x the amount here in Austin. After 9% income tax, she still has the same if not more money left over.... so thats not it

Gas prices... ahh.. so expensive right??? WRONG! Last I checked 3.49 a gallon was top of the range in SD county. Here in Austin its 2.79 for lower range prices. Figure..well there ya go.... you have to pay more in gas in Cali right??? nope... here's why.... The area I am looking to rent has all the same things I drive to here in Austin except all of them are less than 4 miles away. In Austin, the same things I drive to on a daily basis are 12-15miles away. I put 30-50 miles a day grocery shopping and going to the gym!!WTF?? I have to fill my tank up once every 6-8 days. Based on mileage I would only have to fill up once every 2 weeks if that much.... Therefore... GAS IS A CHEAPER EXPENSIVE in California......soooo once again... that's not it....

I have checked and Phone,Internet,Cable expenses are equal.. so that's not it....