Think Or Swim Analyze Tab Reliable?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by Sct1984, Nov 8, 2017.

1. Sct1984

Sct1984

Hello all! I have been reading many of the threads on ET for some time (mostly options related), and I am very new to trading (I was unsure if this section, or with the Options threads would have been better to post this in).

I am generally cautious, so I have questions whenever I see something "too good to be true" and recently, playing around with the Think Or Swim analyze tab, I was getting the sense that it just seemed too easy to set up to be accurate throughout the life of the trade with so many changing variables. Of course I played with adjusting a lot of those variables (volatility adjustments, etc) throughout the life of a few simulated trades, and seems that they would have ended up profitable, but I am curious to hear some experience with the reliability/accuracy of the initial risk profile compared to the actual outcome before I start putting any more money into the market (I have only made 2 very small real money trades so far with success.)

From what I hear, ToS is one of the best platforms for analytics (my brokerage is IB due to the lower commissions) and creating an accurate risk profile seems to me the most important step in developing a consistent and profitable strategy... just curious about how close to "reality" (whatever that is), you find ToS to be in terms of forward analysis.

2. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

:wtf:
    ANY platform will be as good as the calculations that it uses.
    It's a tool.
    YOU provide the inputs -- not ToS, not Black/Scholes/Merton, nor anybody else.

You question conflates the tool and the inputs, as adjudged by the outputs.

"Bzzzzzt!"

3. Give me example(s) of too good to be true analytics ... spreads? expiration plays?

4. Sct1984

Sct1984