"The US went to war because iraq wanted oil priced in euros"

Discussion in 'Politics' started by Daal, May 18, 2007.

1. Daal

Daal

I find interesting to hear the conspiracy theorists say that when the godman ENTIRE administration AND congress wants a weaker dollar, having oil priced in euros would surely help on that. Why on earth would they want to go to war to support some kind of dollar 'hegemony' when they love to see the dollar tank?In fact the argument could be they went to war to pile on debt and make the currency weaker not stronger

2. Good question. I'm not good at this stuff, but when oil is priced in EUR and the US$ collapses, which some expect it to do whe the Asian economies witdraw their investments, oil will become unpayable for the US. The whole country would collapse; that's worth a war, don't you think? Albeit one of the last ones from a crumbling empire.

Ursa..

3. BVM88

BVM88

Daal

As Ursa said above, the US may want a weaker $ but will wage war to avoid a worthless $. Moreover, the inflationary impact of all those $$$'s now outside the US heading back home will economically devastate the US. Just look at 1920's Germany for a taste of what can happen under an insane inflationist administration.

4. Don't agree with that.

Euro$ returning to the USA will buy inflated assets (in real USD terms) which are cheap relative to currency fluctuations. That serves to provide a willing buyer when no willing domestic buyer exists. Much like how the Japanese overpaid for rockefeller center, but maybe this time its securities, etc... It provides either momentum to fuel the fire or an exit point for the 'smart money', depending on your perspective. The reality is that the total dollarized holdings of the USA are so great that even returning eurodollars will get swallowed up by - whatever.