The Ultimate Scalping Setup (HW&SW)

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by laocoon, Sep 11, 2005.

1. laocoon

laocoon

Hi there

I realise that parts of the subject I want to discuss in this thread have already been covered elsewhere, but I've never seen a comprehensive thread that covers ALL aspects of the Ultimate Scalping Setup at once.

I'm scalping the DAX from Europe using IB (I'm a Home-Based Trader) and I want to optimise every part of my HW/SW Setup to get the fastest execution speed possible.

Here's my Setup:
    Hardware:
    -Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Pentium 4 / 2.80 Mhz & 512 MB RAM
    -D-Link DI 713P Wireless Gateway
    -2 Mbit ADSL connection

System/Software:
    -Windows XP Pro
    -PC Cilin Antivirus
    -Ad-Aware Antispyware
    -Spybot
    -Ping Plotter

Trading Applications:
    -eSignal
    -IB
    -Ninja Trader

I run virus/spyware etc, scans every day and defragment my Harddisk once a week. I increased the Paging File size to 2.5 times the initial setting in XP (from 768 MB to roughly 2000 MB). I never run any other application on my system while trading.

Remarks:
    By switching from Norton Internet Security to PC Cilin I considerably increased execution speed because PC Cilin found & destroyed a few viruses on my system that Norton overlooked. The increase in Paging File size also improved system performance a little. I compared execution speed using Wi-Fi & wireline connections and found no notable difference.

I'm obviously aware that trading from a Prop Shop would be the single-most effective way to increase execution speed, but I recently went to visit one and compared their setup/speed with mine and found out that while they obviously had an edge it was smaller than I thought.

Thanks for your thoughts on this subject.

PS: I'd be specifically interested in any Windows XP tweaking/fine-tuning tricks to increase overall system performance