The truth about Worldco LA

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by trendtrader500, Jun 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I have been working for Worldco LA since June 2002. The managing Director / Head Trader is one of the nicest and most honest guys you will ever meet. He is one of the best traders on Wall St and an even better teacher.

When Worldco decided to branch out to LA, all of their office were doing very well in the market as did every trading firm on the street. Worldco LA, had 35 guys trading on their floor until a bunch of traders decided to "fly the coupe" and receive better rates at Andover. When guys leave for better rates, one thing is certain: "They are not good traders. If they were, they could have received just as good if not better rates from Worldco. Traders leave because they escape their losses."

With that said, the head trader felt unloyalty among the traders he trained. But like any wise business decision, decided to be very competitive and compete with lower rates.

The one thing Worldco LA has that no other firm on the street has is a guy that can teach like no other. His training program is top notch. He would only hire guys that did not have experience so he can mold them into solid traders. But like I said before, most bad traders are not loyal as they look to run away from their losses and seek a better deal.

Once the Fall rolled in last year, all trading firms were faced with the same problem, the market turned sour. This didn't mean you couldn't make money, it only meant that you may not make as much money. At this time Worldco NY made a decision to layoff many of their employees and many prop traders. More than half the desk was cut and the head trader could not do anything about this. All new guys that were in the pipeline were faced with a tough choice. Either put up money or find another trading opportunity. So most decided to leave.