The Truth about Forex

Discussion in 'Forex' started by SL321, May 3, 2013.

1. SL321

SL321

I originally posted this as a reply to a thread discussing about whether or not people can live off their forex trades exclusively, but it seems that that other thread was hijacked and took a different non educational turn.
    So am gona go ahead and post this educational post here in order for all to read and be aware of the truth.

"I've been reading some of the threads on this forum for a while, and as amused as I was reading some comments, I also felt sorry for the fact that so many people are misled and compelled to believe some lies and rumours that are spread around.
    I will introduce myself, and hopefully what i will write in the next few lines will leave few of you doubtful about the answer to the question in this thread.
    I trade for a living, it's what I do, I am a small time hedge fund and portfolio manager as well as an financial investment advisor, and when I say am small time, I mean that I don't reap in tens of millions a year like the big time players (some of the top dogs even make billions), but I do make enough to earn me a decent living, that being said, am still a beginner by wall street terms, still young with a growing business.
    I trade stocks, bullion, Forex, commodities and bonds but what i will say may come as a shock to alot of you.
    Giving that I trade for people who entrust me with their retirement funds or lifetime savings or just people who are actually looking to invest their money rather than gamble it away, I don't use much leverage, and by that I mean, that on the average day I trade with 0.5 or 1x leverage, I go in, I go out make couple of hundred pips, and am out, thing is most of the people whose portfolios I manage won't accept more than 5-10% risk max/year on their investments, so although i'm managing multimillion dollar accounts, I usually am trading a couple dozen lots not more.