The trader who never was

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Virtual_trader, Nov 13, 2002.

1. Background:

I graduated from college just a few months ago with a finance degree. I joined a prop firm soon after.

During my time at the prop firm, I had a whole new view on the market. The value investing mentality that professors educated me with became obsolete. I now know that the right way to capitalize on the market is not investing, but trading. Determined to be a trader, I worked hard at the prop firm, trying to learn as much scalping as I can by doing many trades. Unfortunately in this market, hard work doesn’t always lead to success. I was terminated after a few months. My dream of becoming a prop trader was shattered.

Without money and without a job, I know I am not at the best financial position to trade, especially when I am carrying a significant amount of debt from student loan. I felt like giving up trading and move on, but something told me that if I stick around long enough, I am going to succeed. Maybe it’s my overly optimistic inner child telling me this or maybe it is just the bitter taste of defeat too much for me to bear. Either way, I don’t want to admit defeat. I don’t want to surrender.

So I will continue my journey in www.virtualstockexchange.com and I will post all my trades and I hope I could elicit some advices from you all. Thanks!

The starting value of my portfolio is $500,000 with 50% margin

Friday, November 8, 2002:

Shorted 9000 QQQ at $25.65
    Reasons:
    -50bp cut in interest rate precursor a weaker than expected economy
    -Island reversal top on Nov. 4th and Nov. 6th
    Stop Loss set at $26.10 to allow around $0.50 fluctuation
    The stock ended at $25.07 at the end of the day with my position still open

Monday, November 11, 2002:

Shorted 9000 more of QQQ @ $24.76
    Reasons:
    -To average up my winning trade
    -Gap down in the morning to $24.95
    -War threat
    -Broken support for Nasdaq @ 1366 &1354/1350