The Road to Consistency

Discussion in 'Journals' started by trader99, Aug 30, 2019.

Post my gains in % of $$

1. % Percentage Gain

78.9%
  2. $ Dollar Gain

21.1%
  1. trader99

trader99

Hi ETers,

As some of you guys might already know, daytrading has been a long long long journey for me. I've been doing it on/off since 2001. In between, I had jobs/career and stopped trading for years and years on end. But since 2015 I have gone back into doing it actively with pretty bad results. I was all over the map. I was doing futures, stocks, options, intraday, swing, long term etc. I was all over the place and the results reflected that. Huge up and down days/months. For me, that was not what real trading with an edge is about.

In August 2019, I buckled down and just focused on futures and intraday(for 99.99%). I just focused on my edge and clearly defined what those edges are.

Now the results are excellent. So this journal reflects this one IB account where I just trade futures and just intraday.

Now, it's the end of August, I can report my monthly stats. I know it's a smaller account though much bigger than required by PDT. You do the math.

==========
    Stats:
    ==========
    MTD: 38% for the month.
    % of days positive: 72%
    % of weeks positive: 75%

65% of that monthly gains is purely for futures and intraday only trades. That's what I'm so proud of! In the past, I would do all kinds of crazy trades without any consistency. I have one long term stock trade that I've been holding for weeks. It has been going up and up and up. That's my only position trade. But I don't even count that in my gain because I have a separate column for intraday gains. That's the number I look at like a hawk.

Basically 65% of 38% is 25% on PURELY intraday trades(closed out all trades at EOD) I'm up 25% for the month.