The right choice

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Dandy_fr, Jul 17, 2012.

1. Dandy_fr

Dandy_fr

Hello Everybody !

Well I'm posting to have your opinions concerning my point of view about trading for a living.
    So first of all, I'm not a newbie, I've traded full time for two years and was quite profitable (which means I've made 100 k€ profit over this period, starting with a 10 000 € account, not so bad I guess...)
    I stopped to trade 6 months ago (I've lost some money as I took too much risk, funny to say but unfortunately as I was quite successful I became more greedy and wanted more, classic fail scheme...)
    But I precise that without this loss I would have made more than 150,000 €.

Since then I've found a job as a financial controller in a small company, but I'm thinking more and more to start again to trade for a living.
    In fact we often hear that it's impossible to trade for a living, but I've honestly never understood why so much people said that.
    With the time the only answer which seems plausible to me is that a large part of people who trade are not well educated, weak technically speaking, and have a lot of dreams...

Just for information I started to trade futures, after what I add options to my portfolio, and at the end I specialized in volatility trading (so I traded both futures and options)

But the reason why I post today is to have your opinions on my reasonning.
    Well in my daily job, I work hard, have a “ridiculous” salary and honestly I don't think the future will be brighter (the company was almost in bankruptcy before I arrive and even with my help I'm not sure that it will last over the end of the year...)
    I only accepted this job because I thought that it will be a good opportunity to add some experience in corporate finance.