The real-time story of ctrader

Discussion in 'Journals' started by ctrader, Jun 3, 2002.

1. ctrader

ctrader

Hi all,

For your entertainment, I am going to record my rise or fall as a part time futures trader. I am a futures newbie, having studied the market for a few years, I seem to have a handle on the DOW index. I figure trading YM, I should be able to pull home $100 per day. Papertrading both YM and YJ, hitting the bids/asks at trade time has prove profitable.

I originally planned to hold overnight, but recent discussions have led myself to believe that it is just too risky to be long a contract overnight (short I can live with, I can't think of a terrorist type activity that would cause the market to double over night).

So here goes:

June 1 - opened IB universal account. Hope to have approval and funded within a few weeks.

2. Mike777

Mike777

First of all good luck with your trading but 1 bit of advice if I may.
    Pls don't assume that it is ok to hold a short but not a long. You are right that the overall trend is down but you just never know what is going to happen. The day that one of the big caps comes out after hours and increases their yearly guidance, hold on to your hats because the market will go up in one giant leap (Ok it is not probable but it is possible and that is a risk).
    Of course you can hedge your position or just accept the risk but your trading strategy had better have a giant loss factored into it.

Cheers
    Mike:D

3. lundy

lundy

you have to be with the trend, but you also have to have a good entry... entering the market way down here can be risky.

4. ctrader

ctrader

to decide what to do here...

More often then not, if I hold overnight, the market gaps in my favour. The only big move I have papertraded was over sept 11th. I was already short, and ended up making 500 points, and then reversed and made a boat load on the way back up, all thanks to holding over night.