The options ladder. Newby question

Discussion in 'Options' started by zapbrannigan, Sep 3, 2018.

1. As I understand it, most longer term options expire useless (not being exercised). So my thinking is that traders with larger funds will be hedging forex/futures positions by buying puts or calls as a kind of insurance.

With this in mind, is there a way for me to see the DOM in the options market? How do I see where all the volume sits? Perhaps this would clue me in to liquid zones which I can avoid (or trade from) in the futures market.

I am new to options so my questions will come across in a very simplistic manner (until such time as I learn the correct words and phrases to use)

Thank you.

2. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

'longer' or shorter doesn't matter.

it's not 'a kind of...', it *is* insurance.

What you want is Open Interest by strike, which *should*be* available on your platform. But it's going to tell you more about where traders *thought* they desired protection. IV will tell you more about what the market is thinking *right*now*. Not "VIX", but the per-strike IV.

zapbrannigan likes this.
  3. Thank you tommcginnis. I trade fx from the 4hr and above timeframe and manually enter trades directly on the brokers portal. I use tradingview to chart but generally can look at any price chart to base decisions off. Right now I dont even know where to go to access open interest by strike levels. CBOE?
    What is IV?
    Thank you.

4. "As I understand it, most longer term options expire useless (not being exercised). So my thinking is that traders with larger funds will be hedging forex/futures positions by buying puts or calls as a kind of insurance."

Yes, buying puts and calls is like in buying insurance. Selling puts and calls is like selling insurance. It is better to be a seller of insurance than a buyer over time. This is because implied volatility is always greater (over time) than actual volatility.

5. tommcginnis

tommcginnis