The 'Ol Backtesting Dilemma

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by pdmoney, Jan 7, 2009.

1. pdmoney

pdmoney

I got started using Amritrade's Strategy Desk. I have read that their backtesting leaves much to be desired and I can see why. After creating a few strategies and testing them they work almost nothing like they do in real life as they do in the backtests. My question is, is there ANY software that somewhat comes close to getting the same results LIVE as they do in backtests? Not looking for the Magic Bullet, just looking for what works best for a novice just getting started in Automated/Strategy trading. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. As a beginner I think Tradestation will offer a good start. You have a long way to go but start there, read forums, etc. It's probably not the software though its the user that screwed up, try to find some information on creating a good test and be prepared for lots and lots of testing work.

3. PDM, IMO the sad fact is that profitable strategies are too complex to be testable because they have two many variables and conditions. Consequently successful startegies verge on being intuitive. They are complex deductions about market conditions based multiple simultaneous observations. Were it not so, every backtesting fool would be making money, and we can't have that.

4. pdmoney

pdmoney