The Noob's Delusion

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Joe Doaks, Feb 17, 2009.

1. (No need for old hands to read this. I am just aggravated at the foolishness of noobs asking for a handout. "Hi! I'm new to trading! Can you tell me what works?" Every day there is at least one such at the very top of the Trading forum, usually sporting bad English. So rather than vent my spleen at their ignorance every time and frustrate myself typing the same old familiar diatribe over and over, I'm making a place I can send them to, ever so helpfully, of course. So read no further, real traders.)

Trading is not like anything you have ever attempted before. In fact there are NO parallels with ANYTHING else. Not games. Not gambling. Not physics. Not mathematics. And most emphatically NOT with whatever profession or lack thereof you are coming here from in search of an escape to fast and easy wealth.

In YOUR world, people generally are helpful. That's because almost everyone you know is mediocre at best and has nothing to lose by sharing. I make a pretty mean blood orange martini. Wanna know how I do it? Sure! I'll tell you. I know there's no way I make the world's BEST blood orange martini. Want me to teach you some basic conversational French? Sure! Only me and maybe 500 million other people know how to do that.

You wanna know how to make money trading? Wanna learn in one minute what it cost me and others here years of study and trial and error and humiliation and loss to learn? Wanna share in our severely limited pool of profit potential with no effort expended? Wanna go from mediocrity to genius instantly?

Would you knock on Jennifer Anniston's door and ask ger to get laid? Would you walk up to the cockpit on your next flight and ask to fly the plane? Would you go in the hospital and ask to borrow an OR to operate on yourself? No? Then don't ask US for a handout!