The next step for a profitable trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by fortunatti, May 5, 2007.

1. Ok - so maybe my situation is unique, probably not. I'm hoping someone can identify...

I worked as a clerk in the trading pits. Learned a lot there but didn't quite "get it."

Graduated university.

Went to work for an institution (processor) of a relatively obscure commodity product.

What I experienced in the pits started to soak in and become relevant. My brain was making connections.

While working for this institution, I lucked my way into a risk management position, executing the firm's hedges on the screen (a recently new concept) and eventually trading a proprietary/discretionary account.

At first I lost a lot. Then I started to break even. After a few months something clicked, and I became remarkably profitable. Haven't had a losing week in six months. Haven't had a losing month in 10 months. My trades are mostly intraday scalps or spreads, and I usually go home even or spread. I get relatively little acknowledgment or reward for my gains and losses.

I once overheard a floor trader say: "after a certain amount of time you feel a vibe and things just work, either you get it or you don't." I now know what he means.

I am three years out of university, still repaying debt, and am not in a position where my profitability directly equates to salary/bonus within the firm. I live well below my means while still earning a great (or what I think is great salary, someone told me people with my similar function make 10x as much). I just feel fortunate to have had the practice on someone else's time. (Thanks shareholders.)

With X$ buying power I can and a, consistently making money. I have spent hours and days figuring exactly what I need to get started. I am willing to make sacrifices to make this work. To put it simply - it will likely take more than few years to save the seed capital necessary to be successful.