The new SMB 5-year career path program

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by anh_trader, Jun 9, 2010.

1. If you have been looking for trading jobs at SMB Capital, you would probably notice their ad about their new job. It's a 5-year career path that train u for 6 months, let u trade for 5 years and then at the end of it u have the chance of trading their 10mm-30mm hedge fund. I was accepted to to this new program. However I was asked to pay $7,000 for the training. The original cost of the training is $10,500 and I got 3,500 in scholarship. When i asked them why I had to pay for training even when i was a recent college graduate, they said their old policy was that college grad didnt have to pay for training but now when they have combined with T3 for the training program all applicants have to pay the cost.

What do you guys think about this? Is it worth the $7,000? Are there any1 in the same boat as me?

2. It's a scam. The lifespan of a daytrader is 1-2 years MAX. I've been at this over 3 years and I'm still plugging along, I know a few people who've been in it for a decade, but the reality is 95% won't ever make money, of the 5% who do, maybe 3% will barely be above poverty... 1% will make good money for a year or two, and 1% will actually last 5 years, successfully. Probably lower. These shops don't expect to be around in five years.

3. I somewhat agree with that, the part that 95 -98% of people that try won't make it, I also think it depends on the drive of the person too, if you are determined enough you will find a way to trade better and do whatever its takes to learn this game if its your passion. In the beginning its all about preserving capital and being around to trade tomorrow so you can apply the things that you learned today.