The Monkey Calendar

Discussion in 'Options' started by cdowis, May 24, 2008.

1. cdowis

cdowis

I have some experience trading options. Got clobbered on the Iron Condor, made some money doing calendars only. I wanted to share something that I have not seen taught anywhere, and think you might find useful.

I call it the Monkey Calendar. Its "tail" supports the body of the calendar.

1. Place a bullish calendar, above the market. (the body)

2. Above the body, place a short call vertical. (the tail)

That's it.

The "tail" protects the down side of the calendar, AND it provides some hedge against vega risk (volty moves down) on the upside.

This is an interesting alternative to the double calendar.

2. By "above the body" do you mean higher strike prices?

Could you please give me an example of your strategy?

Thanks for yor help!

3. (Sorry if this has already been posted, I missed it if it has.)

I just ran across a paper published by UMASS professors H. Kazemi and E. Szado about "Collaring the Cube (i.e. QQQ)". They discovered that a collar consisting of a six month long put and a series of one month short calls outperformed the QQQQs with 1/3 the volatility.

http://www.optionseducation.org/ins...laring_cube.pdf

It would seem that this is a synthetic put calendar, but they don't even mention that.

They are also a bit light on the details of exactly what they do at expiration. For example, do they let the stock be called if ITM, or roll the calls for a loss?

I was also thinking that you could let the stock be called, then put on a whole new collar the next month, keeping the original longer term put in place. This would be similar to the monkey if I understand it correctly.

4. cdowis

cdowis

RUT is at 732 on May 21.

Purchased 2x Jul/Aug 740put calendar (this is the "body", placed above the market price)

Sold 1x Jul 770/780 bear call spread. (the "tail")