The market CAN be manipulated?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by fast, Dec 4, 2001.

1. fast

fast

Lately I have had difficulty swingtrading because divergences in technical indicators have not had their usual result. For example, the NASDAQ keeps rising although there has been a divergence in the daily MACD histogram which indicated the NASDAQ was losing momentum. Anyone else been having this problem?

I have been puzzling over this and am interested in possible explanations. A recent article by Tom Calandra gives one: the Fed CAN manipulate the market.

http://cbs.marketwatch.com/news/sto...e&guid={B3DC2603-5AAA-4AE2-80DF-6A4B1C588C39}

Any thoughts on this?

Anyone have other possible explanations?

2. How about the possibility that MACD histogram is not a very good indicator?

3. ddefina

ddefina

4. fast..

im not an expert on technical indicators.. but the market is in an uptrend on the daily.. ive noticed the loss of momentum as well and was actually short the qqq's against the top of the triangle formed on the 60's which stopped me out for a small loss during the surge this afternoon.. normally i would have reversed the position but i wasnt feeling well and packed it up for the day.. but, thats what i get for trading against the trend.. according to Dow theory a trend is in effect until a clear signal is given that it has reversed.. until that uptrendline is broken, the market is still trending up..

i dont think its manipulation.. just support/resistance in an uptrend.. this is what i see in the chart.. take it with a grain of salt, im not that good at this yet.. if anyone with more experience would like to shed some light it would be welcome..

-qwik

5. the 30

6. the 5

7. fast

fast

AAAintheBeltway,
    Great point!! My answer is that the MACD histogram with the NASDAQ is just one example with one index. Recently I have seen examples for multiple indicators involving numerous stocks.

8. fast

fast

ddefina,