The Learning Curve

Discussion in 'Trading' started by macal425, Nov 10, 2001.

1. I was wondering if some of the experienced traders would like to share their learning curve experiences in this thread.
    How long did it take to get to the stage where you realized that you would be able to trade for a living?
    What emotional stages did you go through?
    How many times did you almost quit? (If less than 100)?
    What did you do to get back on track when things looked dire and your confidence was shot?
    Etc...

Any comments would be appreciated.

Newbies may also want to share what stage they are at, especially those that are struggling.

I started trading full time 5 months ago and still feel that I am at the very beginning of the learning curve. It seems to be 1.01 steps forward 1 step back. So far I have only lost about 5% of my capital as I have taken some good advice and started with small shares. 3% of that loss has been during 2 blowout, gambling, days. I am delighted with my decision to trade with IB and the negligible commissions on small shares.

I know that at this stage, especially starting during the summer, a 5% loss is well within a reasonable range, however it has been a slow, slow bleed which can drain every bit of confidence.

I do have a trading plan that I try to stick to (except for the 2 blowout, gambling, days). I have one or two entry setups that I follow that I am confident give me an 'edge'. My trade management and tendency to overtrade is where I am lacking and these are the areas that I try and work on, so far with little success. After a particularly bad day I papertrade for a few days to try and get my confidence back