The Learning Curve

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by theowls, Nov 11, 2008.

1. theowls

theowls

Hey guys,

I have been an active day trader for almost a year now working at a prop firm. I have not blown out any account and still trade pretty small just concentrating on learning how the market and tape move. In July I had my best month ever and a few 1k days. Then came August and September and I can back down to earth with a bang. I found it hard to trade the volatility and found my confidence washed. So now I am back to where I started where I am still trying to claw back my losses from my first few months but cant seem to find consistent profitability. Just as I thought I was turning the corner, I then lose a few more k the last few months. Simply put, I am running out of patience. I have worked very hard and have many hours of screen time watching the market. I knew all about the learning curve before coming in. Someone told me it could take 6months to profitability, some a year, some even longer. I have worked 5 part time jobs while going through the learning curve. Quite frankly I am exhausted. I havent seen a dime over the past year as my reward for the hard work. I am considering my options but am worried at how bad the economy is right now. People are getting laid off left, right, center. Even if I quit now, I know how difficult it would be to find another job. I still believe that I can make it as I have showed some days to trade the tape really well by recognizing patterns. Then other days I throw away a weeks work by getting caught in a few bad positions.

Has anyone got any advice for me? Remember i still believe I can make it to consistent profitability, but I am fast running out of time, money and patience. Also take into account how the job situation is out there. I cannot begin to describe my frustration, and it is now starting to affect my overall life. I am tired and pissed off all the time!

Thanks!!!