The hidden secrets of strategy developers

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by jcl, Feb 11, 2012.

1. jcl

jcl

I'm new to trading, so please correct me when I'm wrong, but I'm wondering why traders seem to make such big secrets of their strategies?

Other programmer's forums are full of source code snippets with which people explain and exchange ideas, but I see almost no code here, except from what I've posted myself. When someone posts "What do you think of this strategy", I would expect a script of that strategy, but instead there's only some performance figures.

As far as I understand, the usual fear is that the strategy might expire when published, or even, heaven forbid, that someone else might make some money using your idea. But given the trade volume today, posting strategy ideas is not likely to cause expiration. And the disadvantage of this secrecy seems to be that all work alone and don't exchange ideas, and mostly don't accomplish much. I was told that few traders today are able to get a living from automated trading, although that seems not be too difficult. We could at least in the last months live without problem just from profit generated by strategy tests.

Maybe all would benefit from a more open approach - or what do you think?

2. ssrrkk

ssrrkk

At least for me, I don't use any standard platforms for back testing. I use R for quick analysis and python for back testing, a custom ATS for simulated and live trading with IB. For data, I have my own database that I built containing some purchased data as well as recent updates from IB.

My python back tester is a huge set of classes, and I modify just the core routines which are in heavy object oriented syntax so it wouldn't be very useful to post.

I think what's important more than implementation for me is the kernel of truth in the algorithm, the actual underlying physics that makes it happen. If I get that from ET, I will immediately code it into my framework and test.

3. Bob111