The "haves" and the have "N.O.T.S." (Novice Options Traders)

Discussion in 'Options' started by ElectricSavant, Apr 9, 2006.

1. I do not understand Options. Being the strategic currency trader that I am, many have told me perhaps that Options, would be where my aptitude could be applied.

I concentrate on money management in everything that I trade and money management is a big portion of my trading.

Sure you need an edge....but without money management you could be wasting a lot of time. The uses for money management seem to be most effective in the ranking of your trade probabilities trade by trade and assigning a money management value according to your quality of current set-up. Some "iffy" signals simply get less money to trade. Canned Kelly...FRM....percentage approaches simply do not work, no matter what your winrate is. You gotta' look at the set-up.

I have set up a TOS IRA account and subscribed to some advisories. I have two advisories through TOS's autotrade programs. Optionsmart ( I have subscribed for two years) and Crowder Investments (a new one).

I cannot post the trades as they happen as they are not my trades and I subscribe to get the signals.

But I will post my spreadsheet after the fact to show that there can be a way to trade options and add them to your diversification without having to understand them. This is how I take baby-steps to grow in Options trading. Hey if someone else can make the money in options for me...what do I care. I have my hand in the money mangement part....and that is trading too!

I hope this might be helpful to the many "have N.O.T.S." readers here. Do not be afraid to diversify and find a way :)

G.O.T. to ya' (Good Options Trading) to you...

Michael B.

2. Options are just leverage 5-8x

With high commissions /spread:)

Trade them the same way you trade a stock.

3. Ok thanks coolweb...I didn't realize that...ok i will end this thread now....and trade on my own...cya

4. lundy

lundy