The Car Market in 2018 for the Shade Tree Mechanic

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by kmiklas, Mar 11, 2018.

1. kmiklas

kmiklas

Hi All,

I'm looking for a car that I can work on myself. This is proving to be far more difficult than I imagined.

When I was a kid, I was a Shade Tree Mechanic (STM). I had a Camaro with a carburetor. It was easy to work on; I replaced the alternator, plugs, wires, and a bunch of other things. This all saved me a ton in repair costs (until I later wrecked it at an intersection, but that's another story).

Anyway the market has dramatically changed since then. 80% of new cars go out as leases. At first I thought, "Great! I'll just buy a lease return with 36k miles, and get a lightly-used vehicle at a good price!" Nope... controlled market. These cards are bank-owned; they are sent to auction, where ONLY those with a Dealer License [1] can bid on them. They then mark them up $3-5k, and happily resell them, taking a fat profit.

The cars have also changed; they are all "computerized." Everything is run through the onboard computers. "Awesome!" I thought. "I'm a computer programmer! Give me the passwords, and I can do a lot of analysis myself!" Again, this is controlled; they do not permit access to OnBoard Diagnostics (OBD) [2]. They are clearly not happy about all the money that the STMs were saving.

What is the easiest car to work on nowadays? A friend of a friend told me that Ford allows access to the Onboard Diagnostics (OBD), allowing the user to plug in and load 3rd party software to drive the control system.

ET, please help! Woe is me! How can I win this game? Everything seems to be locked down! I don't want to get gouged on a new car!

Sadly, a friend says that the Shade Tree Mechanic is dead. :(

1. https://www.dmv.org/buy-sell/car-dealers/dealer-licensing.php
    2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/On-board_diagnostics

Last edited: Mar 11, 2018
  2. volente_00

volente_00