The Benefits of Soy

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Thunderdog, Feb 20, 2008.

1. I recently came across an article on WebMD that suggests soy consumption may help prevent male pattern baldness and prostate cancer:

http://men.webmd.com/news/20040330/soy-prevent-prostate-cancer-male-baldness

However, there is no lack of controversy surrounding soy. For every source or study that supports soy consumption for its perceived benefits, there seems to be another that cites adverse effects. For example, there are those who believe that soy consumption leads to gynecomastia (breast enlargement in men), reduced testosterone and libido, as well as an unfavorable effect on lean body mass. Because I am only a layman, I found myself out of my depth amid this controversy. Therefore, I contacted Dr. Joe Schwarcz, Director of McGill University’s Office for Science and Society, which is dedicated to demystifying science for the public, the media and students. Dr. Schwarcz was kind enough to e-mail me an excerpt from his book, An Apple a Day, which touches on soy. Here is that excerpt:

Soy Protein and Soy Isoflavones