The adventures of a new Trader

Discussion in 'Journals' started by cashmoney69, Jul 11, 2006.

1. Ok, I'm going to see if I have the persistence to keep up this

journal. Please feel free to give any constructive criticism, advice,

and comments.

--

For those of you that dont know me, I'm a beginning swing

trader. I'll be getting considerably more money for my account

which has inspired me to keep a journal, as the adventure

in store for me should be interesting. As soon as I get the

money, I'll begin posting my trades
    . Here is the method I'm

going to trade by:

--

1. Because I'm a swing trader, I'll be trading both nyse and nasdaq stocks, as well as ETF's like spy and others that normally would be too expensive. NO amex stocks, futures, options, or currencies will be traded.

2. Trade stocks with avg vol of at least 250,000 +

3. Stops will be held mentally and placed after a loss of 3.00. I will hold winners as long as possible until either stops are hit, or for any reason I think the position should be exercised (bad news ect..)

4. (not sure about this one) Buy 3 different stocks in 3 different sectors..If it works for investing, it should work for short term trading.

5. All positions will be held overnight

- Nathan

2. Today at the open I bought RHAT (Red Hat on NASDAQ)

Still below 90 MA, but has been increasing in volume steadily on

daily charts. I noticed when the Dow was down -166.23, RHAT

was actually up 1.05. I found this interesting. And with the Dow

at -86.02 at the time of this witting, rhat is up .31! :). I'm

looking to gain or lose 2.00, whatever comes first.

12:48

I just bought TIE. Check it out on 60 minute charts. Seems to

have hit bottom at 23.38, and is rising on higher than average

volume. I'm looking for 3.50 on this one.

--

I'll post my charts at the end of the trades

- Nathan

3. RHAT

Bought @ 22.91
    sold @ 23.39

commission 14

profit $ 34.00

Reason for selling: