Thanks for having me. Could use some advice.

Discussion in 'Options' started by Bradson Petrog, Oct 29, 2012.

1. I recently started trading options, and am looking forward to learning more, and sharing lessons as well.

I have to admit to being pretty darn good at predicting the markets' movements. You'll just have to take my word for it, because I don't have the financial record to back that up.

My biggest problem, I think, has been that I have found so many excellent buy(or sell) situations, that I wanted (and still want) a piece of them all.

I began by funding an account with 15 thousand.

I started out, I believe, to have bought myself into an over-diversified situation. And I found myself being thin on capitol if the trade didn't immediately go my way.

Just to buy one deep ITM for 2-3 months out, could cost as much as 10% of my account worth.
    And I don't ever just want to buy one contract. Every time I would do that and the trade went the way it should, I would sell it at a modest 20-30% gain. I would do this for fear that it would turn back and re-test the support I bought in on. Sometimes it would, and I could be glad that I sold before the value dropped, but other times it would just continue to soar on higher and higher without me.

I want to have many contracts to begin with, so that I can sell some when the 20-30% gain comes, but I can also hold on to some in case the stock goes skyward.

So this is what I found my self doing. In order to stay diversified, I would buy calls or puts closer to At the money, or even Out of the money, and sometimes expiring in less than 30 days! I bought these because they are cheap and I can afford to own many. But those things would rot and fall apart almost the minute they got into my hands.