technicals

Discussion in 'Stocks' started by TechnicalTrader, Apr 23, 2007.

1. Anyone follow technicals closely? I have just started to learn about technicals and im finding out they are much more important than news. It seems that if you read the technicals properly regardless of the news you will know the direction the price of the stock will take.

does anyone agree with this?

im a newbie when it comes to trading. Traded for almost a year but lost money. Following this website calls as they help me learn the technicals now. They are very good.

would love to get some feedback from people. what is the major technical indicator most useful?

thanx,

-TT

2. piezoe

piezoe

A few technical indicators may be of some slight value in intraday trading (i don't know anything about the time frame you are wanting to trade in) and it is worthwhile to become familiar with a few, such as the stoichastic and MACD, but a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing.

If you are a new trader, i would strongly recommend that you concentrate on learning how to intrepret and use the market internals, such as market breadth, and the advance/ decline, and possibly the so-called traders index or TRIN. Learn about support and resistance and Fibonacci levels and how to find points on charts called pivot points which are really just points that have some higher than ordinary probability of a price reversal.

You also must become familiar with options and the VIX index even if you are not going to trade options, because options trading does affect equity price action especially near option expirations. Also you will find that depending on what you are trading there will likely be sectors of the market that act as bell-weathers for your instrument of choice, so naturally you will want to monitor a real-time chart of those bellweather sectors. For example many people who trade NASDAQ stocks like to monitor the Philadelphia semi-conductor index, etc.