Teachers Vs. Private Sector, The simple Mathematics

Discussion in 'Politics' started by Hello, Mar 31, 2011.

1. Hello

Hello

So lets say as a teacher I start out making the average pay of 50k/yr, plus my wage grows by 2% per year, which would barely keep up with inflation. (Most teachers are outperforming inflation in terms of pay raises)

If I start out as a teacher making a base salary of 50k per year (which only includes base salary, and doesn’t even include the ridiculous benefits) that would put me at 82k per year after 25 years. The overwhelming majority of states give out 90% of the final salary after 25 years, and also give free health and dental benefits every single year. Plus the retirement salary adjusts for inflation every single year, which means that 25 years from now a teacher will be locked in at 73,800 dollars per year in terms of inflation adjusted dollars, with all their dental and health covered for life, after they retire.

Now let us see what a person could get in the private sector if the person was to religiously invest 10k per year over the course of 25 years.

Let us say we start at the same 50k salary i have listed above, which is above private sector average and this person has to pay 10k every single year into a retirement fund in order to plan to retire 25 years from now. I will give this person the benefit of the doubt and say that he was able to write off the entire 10k, and invest it tax free, but given the fact that IRA’s only allow 5k, the ability to invest 10k per year tax free is highly suspect.