TD Advanced Dashboard Problems

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by vfig, Jan 17, 2021.

1. vfig

vfig

I am an active Canadian Trader, investing over $200k in long positions primarily.
    I don't use margin, short selling or options.
    Lately, I have been having a lot of problems with TD Advanced Dashboard, especially during the first 30 minutes of the trading day. I realize that this is typically the busiest time, but I still should be able to execute orders without having the platform freeze up.
    I am finding that the platform lags quite a bit, often taking at least 5-10 minutes to confirm trades. Makes things very difficult.
    Being a canadian day trader, I am in the process of evaluating Quest Trade and Interactive Brokers. Any recommendations for a broker service that has fast executions even at the busiest of times?

2. vfig

vfig

I should also add that after 10am, the platform seems operate just fine.

3. TD will not fix any problems. Schwab bought them and their priority is now to merge their accounts and use the ThinkorSwim platform (sometime this year). You should move to Schwab as I did.

4. vfig

vfig

Does Schwab support Canadian Accounts?
    I know there’s a very few brokers I have to choose from being Canadian.

5. They bought the US TD. Not the Canadian TD which, I believe, the poster is referring to.

As for the delays on TD's end. Get used to it. They are very slow upgrading their back end server side. IB Canada is a much more reliable option

6. Call TD and ask to speak to a trader to review your trades. Your orders sound like they're getting flagged for manual review (which add a 5-10 delay to every purchase). This could be due to a number of (stupid) reasons... (purchase price too close to cash balance, etc...).

IB is the by far the best option in Canada. Don't listen to what anybody says... lack of support, outdated, Java... is all irrelevant. What matters is order execution which IB excels at.