Taxes

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by jmcgraw, Oct 6, 2001.

1. jmcgraw

jmcgraw

I know this is probably a stupid question, but this is my first year trading with profits in the 10's of thousands. (I've traded for 4 years, but with 4 to 5k, little to no net profits, and not really paying attention to taxes)

My question is about the $3000 loss write-off limit. Is this for a deduction of a years net loss, or for total losses?

Example; Lets say you have total gains and losses at:

$50,000 Gains
    $20,000 Losses
    ----------
    $30,000 Net Gains

Under basic short-term capital gains rates, do you pay taxes on $30,000, or $50,000-$3000(min deduction) = $47,000?

If its the latter, that is really screwed up, because theoretically you could owe more in taxes than you made during the year!
    (make 1mil, loose 900k, pay taxes on 997k???)

For some reason I always assumed that it was a deduction of your net yearly loss... But it suddenly dawned on me that I may have been underestimating the evilness of the IRS. :)

I know this question was really dumb, but thanks for any help.

2. jmcgraw,

Ok, first of all, I'm not an accountant, so confirm what I say, but I think you are mixing up a few things. You pay taxes on your net cap gains, ie profits minus losses. Let's assume all are short term to keep things simple. If you have a net cap loss at end of year, then you can deduct up to $3,000 of that against your other income, ie salary, interest, etc. Any excess cap loss over the $3000, you carry it over to the next year. If you have a cap gain, then the issues never arises.

3. tymjr

tymjr

jmcgraw: “My question is about the $3000 loss write-off limit. Under basic short-term capital gains rates, do you pay taxes on $30,000, $50,000-$3000?”

$30,000.