Taxes on Hong Kong futures

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by Htrader, Sep 8, 2002.

1. Htrader

Htrader Guest

I live in the US and have been trading hang seng futures at night. How do I account for my gains/loss with regards to US income tax? Do I have to report gains as regular income and can I subtract losses against my US equity gains?

2. i have no idea about your question but id be interested to know what trading the hang seng is like.. how are fills? is there good liquidity? what kind of commission costs are there? is there enough volotility for intraday trading? thanks :)

-qwik

3. def

def Sponsor

HK has no capital gains tax. That means for most of the real world you wouldn't have to pay taxes on your gains. However, as I assume you are American - you are out of luck. (I'm in the same boat on taxes but since I am unable to trade HSI for my own account, I can't tell you how you would handle it).

HSI: I've been trading HK for about 8 years. Volume on the futures is about 15-25K per day. Although depth is usually thin on top of the books, however, getting filled is not a problem. The volatility of the index makes it interesting to trade. I'd recommend trading it but it really would depend on your style. ie. If your style is to scalp for a few ticks you probably will get burned when your stops can get blown out by gaps in the market. However, if you are good at recognizing trends and/or support resistance levels, you may do very well.

Speed & prices are very good. IB's price feed is direct from the exchange. Our clients get the same feed as our prop side. We charge 30 HKD all in which includes exchange and regulatory fees of I think 11.50 HKD. (To put the fee in perspective, when using outside brokers for option trades on our prop side we are charged 25 HKD per contract w/o clearing and exchange fees). Each tick is 50 HKD thus you'll need two ticks to make a profit. The standard deviation is a bit over 150 points.