Tax writing off ?

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by Sky123987, Jun 13, 2009.

1. I have a seperate account that I use for all business purposes. Is it required that you save every receipt? Like I went to best buy to buy a computer cord for $30, do I need to save this receipt? or is my online statement good enough

Thanks

2. I would save them, but a detailed online receipt should be enough. Last time I checked meal and entertainment under $75 did require a receipt, but everything else does.

3. topherea

topherea

I'm not a tax expert so obviously confirm these statements with your stock trading tax pro...

BUT

It depends on if you're trading as a c corp, an LLC an irs registered trader, or just as yourself. The number of trades you're placing monthly is also important in determining what the irs will accept as far as entity. C Corp is usually the best way to go if you have a significant amount of $ you're trading with because trade volume doesn't matter if it's traded in an account set up in a c corp.

If you're just trading as yourself with no formal business structure defined, you won't be able to write off anything. HOWEVER save your receipts because if you set up an LLC, you can write off your business expenses going as far as 18 months back. Hope this helps -Topher

4. opt789

opt789

This is not true.
    This site never ends with providing false information.
    There is ample information on the web about all this. If you qualify as a Trader in Securities/Commodities as per the IRS then you can write off any of your legitimate trading expenses regardless of whether you set up an entity or not.

As to the original question, it is always preferable to keep all your records and receipts in a professional manner. If you get audited the agent will want to see that you are following the IRS guidelines for properly keeping business records.

5. topherea

topherea

6. topherea

topherea

7. opt789

opt789