Tax Questions

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by sportmatt37, Dec 26, 2005.

1. Hello All -

This is my first year trading with serious money, so I had some tax questions as we near the end of the year. I was wondering if any of you knew any tricks to get around or possibly write off a portion of the tax I owe. I made about 5000 dollars and have 50000 of capital. Does anyone know how much I would owe or if I would be able to write it off somehow? Thanks a lot.

2. Call up the IRS and get the yearly income tax book (dont remember their official name for it). Use it to figure out what you have done that can be deducted through itemization and credit(s).

RT

3. not enough info. is 5000 all you made this year? any other income? you may owe nothing.

http://www.turbotax.com/
    you can go here. they have a tax estimator.

4. Surdo

Surdo

I am sure you incurred at least $5000 worth of "trading related expenses".

Computer Hardware/Software
    High Speed Internet
    Cable TV
    Margin Expense
    Charts/Data
    WSJ/ Other subs
    Books

Do yourself a favor, hire a good CPA and save more than the fee he charges and write that off as well!

el Surdo

5. First off is to know what tax bracket you are in. If the family earnings for the year are $5,000 then you have little tax-wise to worry about.

Assuming the family has additional income, then the next step is to determine of you can file with trader status, or if you meet the IRS description of an investor.

Assuming you qualify for trader status, then all your business related costs should be tallied up for inclusion on your tax return. You might eliminate the whole $5,000 (or more) with trader status deductions.

To see is you might qualify for trader status, go to Google and type in "am i a trader"

6. If you made less than $7k for 2005 then you dont even have to file a tax return. Keep in mind thats total income from all sources.

7. Surdo

Surdo

Peil:

I am not a CPA, are you?