Tax question

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by nkjl, Jan 22, 2006.

1. nkjl

nkjl

Im a U.S. citizen, but im currently a legal resident of kuwait. There are no taxes in kuwait. I have a xpresstrade and ameritrade account under my U.S. address. Can I open a account in another country and not pay taxes legally?

Is there any non- U.S. citizens who have accounts in the states? and if you do are you responsible for paying taxes in your country on your gains.

(I need a cpa)

Any info or links would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
    Nick

2. rsbe

rsbe

A U.S. citizen is subject to worldwide taxation on all of his or her income regardless of where he or she resides and regardless of the account location. This is unlike other jurisdictions like the U.K. and Canada which only tax their citizens if they reside in the country during the year. For a good discussion of U.S. taxation of forex, see www.manchesterfx.com/taxation.htm. Hence, bottom line, as long as you are a U.S. citizen, you will owe full tax on your forex gains (but you can make the 60/40 election outlined in the link to get the lower tax rates).

Best,

Bob

3. rsbe

rsbe

4. nkjl

nkjl

good information, bad news for me. thanks. nick

5. JackR

JackR

Nick:

As a resident of Kuwait I'd assume you are familar with IRS Publication 54. If not, I'd go to the IRS web site and review it. It covers a lot of what you need to know as a US Citizen working overseas.

Jack

6. mnice78

mnice78

sorry to hijack the thread, but what is a reasonable time frame to expect a k1 form from a prop firm? I was told that I would hopefully receive it around 4/15, which i think is ridiculous. Also, what happens to your initial deposit if you decide to leave the firm? How do you make sure it is categorized correctly not representing a profit distribution? Thanks!