Tax on K-1 income for Germans

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by tomf, Jun 29, 2003.

1. tomf

tomf

Hi,

I got a question concerning the taxation of Germans, living in Germany and having income in form of a K-1.
    How high is the tax bracket, are there specific exemptions?

thx

tom

2. Foz

Foz

Thank you for your expert answer, Mr. Green. It sounds like you are assuming Tom is a proprietary trader. Would your answer be any different if he got a K-1 from a passive partnership investment (say a hedge fund)?

3. tomf

tomf

thx a lot for your insightful reply GreenTraderTax

4. tomf

tomf

GreenTraderTax one more question if you don't mind:

I'm a German student whom is issued income in form of a K-1

Are there any exemptions? The LLC is California based .. how high would the tax bracket be fore me?
    And most important ... has the income to be taxed again at my German income tax bracket?

thx,

tom

5. DBA ist einschlägig. Da Du n. § 8,9 AO unbeschränkt in D steuerpflichtig bist, unterliegt das gesamte Welteinkommen der Besteuerung.
    Was ist K-1?
    Etwa Geschäftanteil an einer Körperschaft?
    Dann käme zu den US- Steuern noch Kapitalertragsteuer i.H. v. 15 % n. Art. 10 OECD- MA.
    Dann ist noch Halbeinkünfteverfahren n. §3 Nr. 40d einschlägig, abzüglich der Sonderausgaben, hierauf dann der persönliche ESt- Satz n. §32 a ESTG.

6. Foz

Foz

Have no clue what the German guy said in German, but I've got a different question...

Greentradertax says the German owes US tax on the income reported on his K-1. Well, what if he doesn't pay it?

a) Germany extradites him, or
    b) Germany doesn't care, but the IRS will report his name to border control and the guy better not come to the US, or
    c) Germany doesn't care and the IRS cares but doesn't do anything. He can come and go from the US as he pleases, or
    d) the IRS makes a claim on the person's assets in the US, or
    e) nothing.