Taking a poll of traders' performances

Discussion in 'Trading' started by catmango, Apr 2, 2003.

1. I'm still working on my own system, and hope to include it as a journal some day on this forum. I wanted to ask traders out there, though, what kind of real returns have people been experiencing?

I'm a swing trader, and I'm trying to target a .5%-1.0% return per trade (net of commissions) on an average hold of one day, and at least a 60% win rate. I don't have a standard dev target, since I don't know what can be considered typical.

Anyway, just curious as to what kind of average returns have people been experiencing out there. It would be helpful if you could state your results (for apples-to-apples comparison) in the form of:

# of Trades
    Avg % Return Per Trade
    Average Hold Time (in days or hours) Per Trade
    Success Rate (% of trades that were successful)
    Avg Gain (for winning trades)
    Avg Loss (for losing trades)

Obviously you can throw in some other metrics, but I think the above are the most important.

Thanks again to everyone, and look forward to seeing how people are performing out there!

2. These are rough guesses on a month by month basis.

# of Trades 25

Avg % Return Per Trade (no idea)

Average Hold Time (in days or hours) Per Trade less than 1 day

Success Rate (% of trades that were successful) 20% successful

Avg Gain (for winning trades) 1-3%

Avg Loss (for losing trades) .2-.5% (1 in 50 loses about 3% though)

So far, I am up 40.81% YTD as of march 31.

Hope this helps. It doesn't really matter what your losers do. Keep em small. You only need a few good wins to really kick ass. Try to keep the # of trades small and only take your faves.

Good luck. Look in the past forums. I think we had this discussion about 50 times. You should be able to find extra info.

3. # of Trades (Last year)

Avg % Return Per Trade (including losers)
    4.1%

Average Hold Time (in days or hours) Per Trade
    Shortest 1d
    Longest 300d