Taking $36,192.23 to hopefully more than $36,192.23

Discussion in 'Journals' started by jedwards, Jan 7, 2011.

1. Inspired by neke's thread, I've decided to try to start my own journal. I'm not sure I will have neke's level of dedication and honesty, but I hope I do. I think it will be a good way for me to keep track of my efforts.

I'm a terrible discretionary trader. I know this about myself, because I'm overly emotional and my PnL is proof. I've been trading a few different systems that I developed but because I futzed with the targets and stops all of last year, instead of having a 40% gain, I ended up with close to a 50% loss. So my goal is to use this journal as motivation for me to stick with my system and not move stops or targets.

I trade using automated strategies using Ninjatrader on Zen-fire and IB. Last year, I traded the TF, HSI, DAX, corn, and soy. This year, I'm going to focus on TF and HSI, and selectively trade corn and soy. My automated system produced 3 months of massive losses for the DAX at the end of 2010 which destroyed me, so I will avoid trading DAX until the results start looking better.

2. Week 1

TF: 3 wins, 2 moved stops.
    Corn: 2 wins, 1 loss, 1 break-even.
    HSI: 2 moved stops.

Total: 39183.36, up 2991.13 (+8.2%)

Overall, a lucky week for me. 3 wins in a row on TF is nice, my system usually produces 2 wins, 1 loss, and 2 moved stops per week. This is the strategy I have the most confidence in, so I ended up leveraging much higher on this trade than the others (5-8 contracts per trade instead of the recommended 3-4).

Notable deviations from the trading plans:
    M: I didn't trade corn because I didn't like how the automated trade wanted to go short when the markets were trending up, so I avoided the trade. I ended up saving myself a full loss.