Tactics to Become a More Patient and Disciplined Trader

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by sroehling, May 20, 2019.

1. sroehling

sroehling

I started trading a few years ago, and I'm primarily a longer-term position trader with stocks. Through trial and error and learning from others, I've adopted numerous tactics to become more patient and disciplined:

To summarize:
    1. Avoid using market orders
    2. Use alerts to watch stocks for you
    3. Log out of your trading platform during market hours
    4. Use dedicated accounts for specific strategies
    5. Use a smaller experimental account for learning and strategy development
    6. Favor systems with lots of entry signals
    7. Backtest your strategies (and move towards systems trading)
    8. Use smaller position sizes (big one for me)
    9. Use checklists to score trades
    10. Just keep on trading
    For me, there's been no "silver bullet" to become more patient. I've had to work on this from multiple angles. I've also become more patient just by gaining experience and through repetition.

The list above is tailored to my style of trading, but I'd be interested to know if others have some tips, tricks and techniques they've used to become more patient.

toon, birdman, Onra and 2 others like this.
  2. %% Check list;
    market order$ work fine/exits with multimillion+ average day volume + care[Limit order entry works fine; but like IBD [Investor's Business Daily] warns= dont quibble over a quarter + miss the move.So true..........................................................................................

Last edited: May 20, 2019
    nooby_mcnoob likes this.
  3. MarkBrown

MarkBrown