Systems Trader turned discretionary

Discussion in 'Forex' started by ElectricSavant, Feb 9, 2006.

1. Retail Spot Forex Traders,

I have tried and tried to learn how to discretionarily trade. I am an avid systems trader and have constantly battled with the changing market characteristics rendering my systems ineffective.

When trying to place the market in a can, systems must be so loose that they give away what the market tries to give them.

I am pleased to announce that I have added a "discretionary component" to my trading and have survived for 81 days. I know this is not a true test, but I hope to be able to adapt to all market conditions and I feel my plan is well thought out.

I still trade a long-term positive interest carry system, but I have learned to goose it with some scalps.

The purpose of this thread is to point out that it is possible to derive enough information from your systems to make additional discretionary trade decisions with. Keep it small and concentrate on drawdown and not yield and you should be able to fine tune your systems to yield a bit more.

Some of the basics such as range, lagging indicators, different time frames would be shocking to you, if you just realized its HOW you use these basic bellweathered principals that makes the difference.

Michael B.

2. Chood

Chood

welcome to the dark side

3. That USD/JPY might present just one more scalp, but its getting late and the afternoon here in the MST time zone and this time the market really slows down, so I do not think there is enough steam left for this scalp to work. I gotta watch the pip count and see if the dip will provide an opportunity...prolly not...

I love this work...its just to wait for the London open now...so now I go to Starbucks the Gym and take Wifey out to dinner...

Michael B.

4. I have had similar experiences with automated systems becoming ineffective.