Switching to Linux from Win10

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by JackRab, Oct 29, 2017.

1. JackRab

JackRab

Is anyone familiar with Linux? I'm thinking of switching off Windows 10.

Main purpose is for my laptop, which seems to slow to the speed of a concrete block after a while. I don't trade very often from my laptop, but that's my only option when I'm at home. Laptop is about 4 years old, so it might be just acting it's age... just like my 4 year old son ;)

So I'm going with Linux Cinnamon as a dual boot option. I'm not experienced with Linux... so I still want the option of Windows 10, at least for the first few months.
    I've got Interactive Brokers TWS as trading platform.

Any tips or remarks on the switch to Linux? What do I need to look out for? I think I can still use certain Windows programs... excel?

JR

cjdsellers likes this.
  2. sle

sle

I used to run Ubuntu (Mint is an Ubuntu-based distro) on my laptop. It's super stable, fast and not memory-hungry. You can run Excel via WINE, Excel 2010 works perfectly, macros and all.

PS. switched to a MacBook recently which is Unix and yet it's so nice :)

3. eurusdzn

eurusdzn

OpenOffice rather than MS Office. Not Excel. I couldnt use VBA as i recall so I didnt get far with switching to Fedora. i went dual boot as well and the best part was the internet speed with Linux. Maybe I had Windows viruses etc... I threw the entire machine in the alley eventually and remain in life long Windows shackles. Not tech savy here so I'm sure others can help.

4. JackRab

JackRab

I read somewhere that Mint Mate or Mint Cinnamon might be a better option for laptops that are a bit older... that's why I need to switch... I guess I could buy a new laptop, but I find that eventually laptops can't cope anymore with Windows.

WINE is like a windows environment that runs those programs?

5. a 4yo laptop is not old.

and they dont slow down with age, unless the op sys is corrupted