Switching from ES to Bonds

Discussion in 'Financial Futures' started by 9Baller, Jun 30, 2009.

1. 9Baller

9Baller

I have been trading ES for several years...had a trend this AM...but seems like this market is always in the chop...and I'm getting frustrated...

I've never traded bonds and I wanted an opinion if any of you have switched from the ES to bonds or another market and found the transition smooth..

From what I see in the bonds If put a scalp on...I am going to get my answer relatively soon...right or wrong the verdict comes in quickly...better volatility and trendability...

with the ES...that answer is not swift...not since March atleast...market churns a few ticks...and the whipsaws have been a problem lately...any thoughts?

2. Be careful what you wish for. The bonds/notes have been "whippier" but volatility should return to stocks after Labor Day. :cool:

3. I switched from ES to the 10 yr Note and Euro FX futures last year. To date, I believe the Euro FX futures is the best market to trade: both swing and intraday. While both market trend well, but they will back and fill. You may need to use a larger time frame if day trading. I went from 3-5 minutes for the ES to 10-15 minutes for the 10 year and Euro. Looked at the 30 yr bond but found the 10 year to be less volatile and the smaller tick size appealing.

4. 9Baller

9Baller

yes more places to exit is appealing...what do you guys think of the CME's move to double the tick size back to 1/32...action in the ES was awful again today...

5. I traded bond futures for about 15 years, and then last September I went on vacation; and when I came back, I started trading the ES. I'm not quite sure why. It just seemed like the thing to do.

Personally, I find the ES easier to trade than ZB. I think it's because the bonds are more sensitive to data releases. If you start trading ZB, I would advise you to study carefully the way the market handles the numbers releases.