Switching from equities to futures

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by xxxskier, Nov 16, 2005.

1. xxxskier

xxxskier Guest

I'm thinking about switching from swing trading stocks to day trading the S&P e-mini.

Some background: I've been swing trading stocks for about 3 years. First year I broke even, the second year I increased my account equity by 24%, so far in 2005 I'm basically flat. I have a 100k account.

Fortunately, my wife has a high paying job so we don't have to worry about income to cover the bills. I've reduced my hours at my "other job" to the point where I'm now working only about 15 hours a week as a consultant (not stock market hours). My wife is very supportive of me becoming a full-time trader. The goal is for me to quit the consulting entirely and just trade.

I've done a lot of research, read well over a dozen books on trading, and am prepared to continue this life-long education.....I'm very passionate about it.

I probably put in about 50-60 hours a week trading and doing research. That doesn't really bother me as I like to study (I have a Ph.D.) But I am now reaching the point where I wish I was in all cash every night. I'm getting tired of all the shenanigans in the equities market with morning gaps and all the other games.

I'd like to be to able to start each day fresh. It also seems like it might be a little less taxing to continually watch one market, i.e. e-mini, versus many stock positions at once.

I did one of those free "live interactive trading educatiion seminars" with Traders International last week and was intrigued although it did bring up a lot of questions.