Switching careers?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by grapico, May 19, 2009.

1. grapico

grapico

Hi there...

I currently work in IT but have a B.S. in economics and information systems

I am looking for a change in lifestyle.

I would like to make in the 60-70k range minimum, though I would also be fine with this amount.

I also like to travel, so was thinking I could travel around and make money on different countries stock exchanges on the floor, or remote when I wasn't doing that day trading.

Is this a feasible options.

I don't have many expenses, I just don't want a 9-5 everyday.

2. It takes years, even decades, to trade well on one class of instruments in one market (or country) - learning all the intricacies, who is who, who owns whom, the alphabet soups, regulations, margin rules, so you can finally profit.

You want to go and trade in Milan, Frankfurt, London, Leon, Singapore, Hong Kong, Tokyo, Taipei spending just a few months in each and be profitable? And you speak their languages, right?

3. OffTilt

OffTilt Guest

How about 7-7?

4. grapico

grapico

7-7 is fine, as long as I can take a break for a month or so.

Sorry if the post is vague or off the wall, it is a serious post, and I can always make money programming on the side.

I speak english (obviously), french (France not Canadian), and spanish.

I am just looking for a different life path.

5. grapico

grapico

of course, I am just seeing if this path is even feasible, i.e. being to trade on the floor of multiple stock exchanges, etc.

I realize it will not be an easy task, nothing is that is worth doing, but I am up for a challenge.

again I have a b.s. in econ ...so... I am not a total newb... I also have etrade account, but really just for investments at this point.

6. Just what are you thinking of doing "on the floor" exactly? Are you a trader?