Swing Trade E Mini's

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by cookpr, Jul 11, 2002.

1. cookpr

cookpr

Excuse the ignorance, but I am fairly new to the futures and e-mini markets, as I strictly have traded stocks, but my interest has been piqued in the e-mini's.

I have followed them for a bit, but damn, they seem to shake around so quick, that I dont think I have time to trade them, as I work a full time job where I am often away from my desk. Is it even possible to hold these things for more than day, or swing trade them. Seems every thing I have read is about scalping them in a matter of minutes (or seconds). And if I was to hold them, I could be wiped out in little to no time.

Thanks in advance...........

2. ANCHOR

ANCHOR

I have seen some guys trade the NQ mini's with a 2 hour time frame but I have never seen anyone swing those things.

3. I am more of a fundamental trader, and my holding period is between 1-4 days. This works well for me, as I am not interested in being glued to the screen and watching every tick.

Of course the swings are greater, so you have to be more capitalised and/or trade few contracts than a scalper.

4. gta

gta

5. cookpr

cookpr

Thanks for the link and info........

I simply think I do not have the time in the day to trade them, nor am I capitalized enough to hold long.........but the info has been great, keep it coming if you have it

6. cookpr

cookpr

Zentrader.....how capitalized are you and how many contracts are you carrying and for how long? And if you dont mind, how is your success rate and how many times has the market raped you by holding them?

7. tymjr

tymjr

cookpr: “Is it even possible to hold these things for more than day, or swing trade them?”

Depending on the circumstances, I’ll hold a position for a couple of days, but my setups are derived from shorter timeframes and not daily charts.