Swing or Scalp ?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by karabugla, Oct 28, 2001.

1. hi,

i started trading us stocks about 6 months ago, before that i did german stocks, so i´m not a complete newbie to this business.

i basically trade one setup: breakout after a consolidation near the intraday high (5 min candles). before i enter the market , i have a quick look at the daily chart to spot 200ma/50ma/res-levels etc which could lead to a fake. if it´s possible i try to avoid setups with res-levels near the actual price, because they are more difficult to trade. the same if bigboys like msco mlco gsco etc are sellers showing a thousand at a time.
    the ideal trade for me is opening a position within the consolidation (stop placed at the lower end) , stock breaking out and trending higher and higher until the end of the session closing at or near its intraday high. in this case i´d close the position mkt on close or 5 minutes before closing bell (no overnights for me!)
    the only 'bigger' problem is to decide whether the breakout is a short scalping opportunity or if it´s a swing trade with the stock trending up until the end of the trading day.
    for all of you who trade a familiar setup - what do you do to decide whether it´s a short scalp or a swing? i tried several overbought/oversold indicators programmed in omega´s tradestation, but they all seem to be rather useless...

thanks for sharing your thoughts!

kev//

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    btw: for some of you this might sound quite old-fashioned, but this setups still works

2. Magna

Magna Administrator

kev,

the only 'bigger' problem is to decide whether the breakout is a short scalping opportunity or if it´s a swing trade with the stock trending up until the end of the trading day...what do you do to decide whether it´s a short scalp or a swing?