Swift Trade

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by Kaya, Apr 24, 2003.

1. Kaya

Kaya

I was wondering if there is anyone that has worked at Swift Trade as a prop trader that could share their experiences with me, good or bad...
    Thanks in advance, Kaya

2. Babak

Babak

Do a search on the site. Lots of info. Mostly negative.

3. Hi,

I was a trainee with the Vancouver office 4th quarter of 2002. Each office is a bit different in terms of management since it's a franchise but here's a general gist of it. Sorry for the lack of flow cuz it's a cut and paste job from earlier posts. I'm too tired right now to edit it. I'm just got back home after a 14hr trading+classroom day with Bright Trading.

I got
    accepted into the trainee program after two job interviews and a nominal
    fee of $99 to cover a textbook and use of firm capital. So that $99 aside,
    there was no cost to me. No commissions were paid, and we had full use of
    firm capital with no liability. We were trained to specialize in a single stock
    (AMAT for half the class, INTC for the other half) and we scalped for
    pennies. They had every intention to hire all of us if we showed them that
    we could make the required $5000/mo. We had no ticket charges, only ECN
    fees and the SEC tax; in fact we even got credited ECN rebates for providing
    liquidity (for ex. $2/1000 shares routing thru ISLD). So at times, I would
    trade SUNW during lunch time with 4000 shares and flat the trade for $8 per
    side.

The reason why no trainees got hired was because none of us was profitable
    after those 3 months. Supermontage messed us up too because routing got
    complicated and expensive with SOES for taking liquidity away. Sometimes,
    hitting BRUT or NTRD for a momentum trade dinged us 1.5 cents/share/side!
    When we're scalping for only 2-5 cents, needing 3 cents to break even hurts.

Actually the deal is $5000 net of fees. In terms of gross, it's different for