Swift Trade Securites-Downtick rule

Discussion in 'Trading' started by FmrRetailGuy, Oct 1, 2002.

1. Hi All,

A little background about myself. I am a former retail trader with the Canadian firm, Swift Trade. I've posted extensively under another username here. This username id now used is to protect my sources and myself. I have never been one to blow the whistle on anyone but I strongly feel that this information is critical for Prop and Retail traders alike at Swift Trade. Read this post and decide for yourself. We all know of the NASD investigation with the wash trades. Charles Kim that genius would do anything for a buck. Well there is now another potential problem. You prop traders will remember signing a form recently regarding the downtick rule. Question it!!! Don't sign it without asking why? This is something big that could eventually blow up. When Worldcom credits were all the rage, I know for a fact that Peter Beck and crew opened up the system to allow shorting and that props were *encouraged* to make money by going short ie. short offering for credits. Before the WCOM collaspe, ProsperPro piece of crap would say something like 'stock is not shortable' or 'cannot short on a downtick'. Does it seem fishy that this message disappered when credit trading was exploding? Anything for the almighty dollar it looks like. Well the NASD has been informed and who knows what they'll do. Shorting without a bullet was easily acheived by going long and smashing the Soes sell button. This was well known but compliance and the "Bridge" turned a blind eye to it. It is almost a certainty that when the NASD comes down on Beck, Kim, etc... they'll try and pin the blame on the traders. My point is just KNOW WHAT TYPE OF COMPANY YOU WORK FOR!!! I have closed my account and am trading with IB. I miss trading with the boys but don't miss all the BS I had to go through. How do I know all this you ask? I have some very good friends on the inside as well as a 'relative' that tra