survival

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Lady Trader, Aug 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hi all..
    this is my first thread n m not yet acquainted with the site but i'll b highly obliged if i get some responses..
    So here goes...
    I've been trading for a prop firm for the past 2 yrs n 2 months and as expected i've been through a rough ride...
    Though in this short journey of discovering myself as a trader i did make a bit of money... i was the talk of my entire firm n had consistently made money from aug'o7 to jun'08 (with my fair share of slumps in between)
    but recently i m just not making money as in i m constantly taking losses...
    I've started doubting myself as a trader because i m making quite a few mistakes regularly...
    I mean i know we need to keep our stop loss intact and i cannot fidget with that one Golden Rule but something just goes buzzz or blank inside me when i m unable to hit my stoploss the first time... If i dont hit it the first time i normally book my loss only when its too late.
    I m primarily an intra day trader but my strategy gives me high profits and high losses...
    but i would be much much better off without those big losses...
    I know its lack of discipline and believe me i want ti change it I hate myself for being weak but i still just keep repeating it...
    Now I've come to a point whr my survival in the firm is at stake...
    Any advice is most welcome...

2. Hi, Lady. Welcome to the site.

We've all been through slumps. Without knowledge of your methodology, it's hard to troubleshoot the issues precisely, but here's what I do to recover:

When I'm in a slump the first thing I do is pare down my lot sizes. No more 2,000+ share lots! I'll reduce my trades to 200 - 700 shares until I:

a) figure out what I was doing wrong, or

b) regain my consistency.