Support needed

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by epetrov, Mar 23, 2008.

1. epetrov

epetrov

Hello guys,
    I've been studing TA since 4 1/2 years ago. Un to now I have read many books, forums, experimented a lot with the markets.
    Nevertheless I can not reach positive results. Now I again papertrade in order to improve. Am I unlucky or I do something's wrong?
    I use a simple strategy - enter the market just after the breakout of correction moves in the trends. I use also AmBroker in order to screen the market. My setups are either swing trades or day trades.
    So, is there anybody who can support me with my effotrs. General statements like: you can do it, continue to persist, just do it, it takes a time - do not help me at all. I feel as an idiot w/o real support. Now I have 4 stocks to watch for Monday.
    You can freely contact me by personal message or by the forum.
    Looking forward to your reply.
    :)

2. BSAM

BSAM

Watch only 2.

Are you using indicators for day trading? If so, quit using them.

3. bathrobe

bathrobe

I do not trade stocks but the same methods still apply:

Do you use volume on your charts? this is often overlooked but is very important. Look for a breakout in either direction w/ high volume and it is likely to continue for a bit. If the retrace is on decreased volume and you can stomach it, hold on and use a stop you feel comfortable with.

I use volume and slow stochastic for entries set to 5,3,3,

I also use bollinger bands to exit trades, but you may want to tinker with the settings to find standard deviation settings that do not get hit too often

And of course EMA cross, extremely simple, yet this can catch moves also only it can be a bit late.

look into Key Reversals and Bullish and Bearish Engulfing candlesticks

All this said, Volume is the "cats pajamas"

4. epetrov

epetrov