Support and Resistance on Indices

Discussion in 'Trading' started by AFX, Sep 21, 2011.

1. AFX

AFX

Hi,

It is my first post here. Coming from the Forex arena and having much success trading longer term time frames but not so much day trading I decided to expand my horizons and based off of a conversation I had with a daytrader friend of mine a while back I decided to take a look at the above.

I have been watching quietly on the sidelines for the past few weeks, just trying to get an idea as to how price reacts to levels and I am quite amazed to see that price really does respect support and resistance levels. At least to an extent.

So from what I have seen, assuming you get the correct price action at these levels, so being patient and waiting for the ideal setups, it seems you can have quite a good level of success trading bounces. This is a little new to me as I am a trend trader at heart, but from what I have seen, you will get a much better strike rate and find more consistency trading bounces.

Am I correct in my analysis or have I missed the point completely? Maybe the recent conditions are exceptional?

I am not saying I am not going to back test heavily, but I would be interested to get some experienced views in any case just to make sure I am not barking up the wrong tree.

My other question is... should I be using the price ladder and T&S to support my trade or is that overcomplicating it? Up until now I have literally been watching just the charts with absolutely nothing else.

I look forward to your thoughts and comments.

Kindest

Vince

2. I notice the very same in index futures, specifically the ES. But instead of trading bounces (which I find rather speculative), I trade its breaks and set a stop to the most recent spike created prior to the break. I find the trends to be very smooth and straightforward in the ES.