Super Newbie

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Eazy, Feb 4, 2006.

1. Eazy

Eazy

Basically, I'm interested in trading and the finance world in general and I don't know much about it. Right now I'm working in Japan, but when I return to Canada I'd like to get involved in something financially related. I have a degree in the Social Sciences and I'm taking the Canadian Securities Course online right now.

Anyway, I've applied to a bank to maybe work as a branch manager's assistant, but I'm also thinking of applying to some place like SwiftTrade. I've read the posts for and against it, but for a 23 year old who is looking to get involved in finance and trading, is it a good place to start and get experience? It sounds like they'll train me and provide me with experience that I could eventually apply somewhere else.

The most experience I have is managing my own portfolio with a discount brokerage and the Canadian Securities Course which is still in progress.

Any thoughts from the vetrans here? Thanks.

2. Absolutely, swiftrade is one of the only places which will give you experience (i hesitate to use the word train) without you putting up any cash. once you get comfortable on the keys and reading L2 and charts....it's time to leave the nest.
    The securities course will help you understand basic fundamentals, not really a daytraders main focus. Education never hurts though, i'd rather know too much than too little. Hope this helps!

3. Eazy

Eazy

Thanks. I'm interested in finance and business in general and daytrading seems fun, but it's something I'd like to learn as part of a bigger experience in the world of trading.

Would you say that an entry level job such as one at swift would open doors to more respectable venues or companies?

From what I've read here, a lot of people seem satisfied with their careers as traders.

Why do people choose the trading route over something more institutional like working for a bank or becoming an accountant?